That Blue Square Thing

Syllabus content:
PDF iconUnit 4 content - PDF doc to download and print
Note: this syllabus content is a slightly amended version of the one published freely on the web by AQA. I have made very minor adjustments to remove some content less suitable for students to use and it is presented here simply to allow the children I teach to download a usable copy of the syllabus content. It is copyright AQA and reproduced here simply to make access easier for students. No attempt to claim copyright is being made, although I could have copied the text into my own interpretation...

AQA Computer Science GCSE

September 2020: This page is the for the 2022 exam version of the AQA Computer Science GCSE course. This is for Year 10 teaching in September 2020.
These pages were copied over from the old syllabus and will get updated as I work through the new one. That means they won't always be totally up to date and I might miss something - check the updated date at the bottom of the page.

Computer Systems

This area is all about the ways in which computers work. That includes what goes on inside the "black box" of the computer system and how things fit together.

I break the syllabus here down into seven parts, although these are a little different to how the syllabus actually reads.

  1. Boolean logic
  2. Hardware and Software/Software types
  3. Systems architecture
  4. Fetch-Execute cycle
  5. CPU Performance
  6. Memory and Storage types
  7. Embedded systems

There are some parts of this unit which crossover with the last part of Unit 2 - the ways in which programming languages work. Other parts cross into Unit 7.